Goodbye Bitcasa

After having struggled with Bitcasa for too long I have finally decided to quit the service. Their highly touted infrastructure upgrade had left the service unstable and therefore unsuable.  Add on top of that the fact that my data would be missing half of the time I logged into the service and that customer support did not have much in terms of hope as to when service would be on par (or better, as promised before the upgrade), was enough to make me leave…  Surprisingly with a full refund. Something is fishy.

My take on the situation is that Bitcasa simply got fed up with all the private customers and decided to do whatever I took to alienate them as much as possible.  I know it sounds dumb but the fact that there was no real struggle to keep me as a customer is telling of the situation.

I have uploaded all my content to my Google Drive account and have signed up for a 1TB account.  So far I am very happy with the replacement service and I would recommend switching to anyone caught up in the Bitcasa mess.

Leave a Reply

